Thee Oh Sees - 2010-03-28 - Founders Park USC

This features the final March 2010 Thee Oh Sees recording, at the University Of Southern California.  The last post covered opening group Entrance Band, as our recordist had got there a bit too late to capture opening act The Growlers set.

Thee Oh Sees
Founders Park

Recorded directly in front of Brigid Dawson, by 'bcingyou' (Mark B.)


M-Audio MicrotrackII + Sony ECM990-F > WAV(44.1 sample rate/16bit) > CD Wave Editor track split  FLAC level 8


intro / Enemy Destruct / Contraption / I Was Denied / Tidal Wave / Block Of Ice / Dead Energy / Crack In Your Eye / Ghost In The Trees / Quadrospazzed / Warm Slime

Complete audio recording (pCloud FLAC).

I've also upped a full video recording of the show, synced to the audio recording.


Thee Oh Sees - 2010-03-26 - Social Science Trailer No.103 - UC Irvine CA

Third in a series of four March 2010 Southern California shows from the San Francisco-based quartet, taped by the indomitable bcingyou.

I was NOT denied...
La la la la la...
La la la la la...

Who but these guys would play in a portable CLASSROOM???

Four score people got the show of their lives.  If this group isn't one of the best live bands on this planet and you don't groove when they play, you must be DEAD, DEAD, DEAD, DEAD...
from bcingyou:

"Wow...fucking Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The 3rd night seeing Thee Oh Sees was a thrill ride....playing in a portable classroom on UC Irvine campus...I didn't think anyone would be able to find this place but the crazies came out of the woodwork and filled this classroom with a capacity of 80 max (campus security made sure no more got in)...easily the most energy intense show I've EVER attended....the only show where I got hit so hard from behind that my tomahawk mic went flying out of my hands and I was stunned wondering: "why are my hands empty and where's my mic"....landed next to Brigid's feet under her keyboard...4 a.m. and I'm still wired...."

26 March 2010
Social Science Trailer #103, UC Irvine Campus, Irvine, CA

Audience Master Recording by bcingyou.
Recorded directly beside keyboardist, Brigid Dawson. Band and audience at floor level.

M-Audio MicrotrackII + Sony ECM990-F > WAV(44.1 sample rate/16bit) > CD Wave Editor track split > FLAC level 8

01. Enemy Destruct
02. Contraption (mic hits ground at 20 sec. mark)
03. I Was Denied
04. Meat Step Lively
05. Dead Energy
06. Block Of Ice
07. AA Warm Breeze
08. Ghost In The Trees
09. Crack In Your Eye
10. Tidal Wave
11. Warm Slime (Summertime Jam)

Total time - 45:05

Audio recording (pCloud FLAC format)

bcingyou documented the openers as well, here's the Cosmonauts' set:

26 March 2010
Social Science Trailer #103, UC Irvine Campus, Irvine, CA

00.  (song cut?)  
01.  Like A French Assassin
02.  Dorothy
03.  Electric Chemicals
04.  T.V. Californnia
05.  Neon Kids
06.  Our Man Flint

Cosmonauts (pCloud FLAC

And Sandwitches...most of the songs they played are on their album 'How To Make Ambient Sadcake' but there's a couple that are pretty new which I can't identify.

26 March 2010
Social Science Trailer #103, UC Irvine Campus, Irvine, CA

01.  (new song)  "I Walk Up To You". [YouTube of Sep 2010 Eagle Tavern performance]
02.  Back To The Sea
03.  Relax At The Beach
04.  (new song)  "Hold Me"  [YouTube of Mar 2010 SXSW performance]
05.  Wicked Inger
06.  The Revisionist
07.  Kiss Your Feet
08.  Fire

Sandwitches (pCloud FLAC)

I dug up a photoset of the bands....

And at some point a recording of 25m of video of TOS may very well surface...

(this actually referenced to the Founders' Park video, seen in my post from that show.)


Thee Oh Sees - 2010-03-25 - Casual Encounters LA

Second installment of Thee Oh See's "March Madness" shows in SoCal.

Dispatch from the front, courtesy of our correspondent bcingyou:

"Last Thursday's show is finished and I included all photos I took. This recording is AMAZING! I'm really proud of this and I fixed the problem that was causing some connector pops in the earlier Oh Sees recording.  To my ears this sounds perfect raw with no post tampering required. This night they did Ghost In The Trees and an even more amazing version of new song
Summertime Jam (Warm Slime).

Attached a pic I found on Flicker from thurs show and one I took of John's beautiful green guitar [both on display here]."

25 March 2010
Casual Encounters Warehouse, 1257 E. 6th St., Los Angeles, CA

Audience Master Recording by bcingyou.
Recorded directly in front of singer/guitarist John Dwyer. Band and audience at floor level.  Equipment:  M-Audio MicrotrackII + Sony ECM990-F > WAV(44.1 sample rate/16bit)>  CD Wave Editor track split > FLAC level 8

John and his Burns
01. intro
02. Enemy Destruct
03. Block Of Ice
04. I Was Denied
05. Meat Step Lively
06. Tidal Wave
07. Contraption
08. AA Warm Breeze
09. Ghost In The Trees
10. Crack In Your Eye
11. Dead Energy
12. Warm Slime (Summertime Jam)
13. Mega Feast
14. Opposition(*)
15. (after show chatter)

Total Time – 59:23

Listen to bcingyou's recording (pCloud FLAC format)

(*) The identification of the last song is still tentative, as this song as far as I know remains unreleased, and this is the only live recording I have of it.

Unfortunately, I haven't yet turned up any video of this show, but there are plenty of good photos in the FLAC set above as well as the following:

Some great photos by Ronny.  (Wayback Machine URL, but sadly, Flickr set has been deleted)

More great photos. (Wayback Machine URL, works)

2010 Thee Oh Sees Songlist

bcingyou also provided me a recording of opening act Sandwitches (in case the Myspace link doesn't do it for you, go here instead):

tracklist needs a bit of work, ?'s are likely new songs:

intro / ? / Tarantula Arms / The Revisionist / Wicked Inger / Fire / ? / ? / ? 


Thee Oh Sees - 2010-03-11 - Nomad Gallery LA

When somebody who's been going to shows for thirty some-odd years says he's just been to the best one he's ever seen, you take notice.  And when he comes back for more, not just once or twice, but *three* more times in the same month, the band in question has to be something special.  And they are.

This is the first of a series of four bcingyou recordings of Thee Oh Sees from March of 2010.  Enjoy!

Thee Oh Sees

11 March 2010 
Nomad Gallery, 1993 Blake Ave., Los Angeles, CA 
Audience Master Recording by bcingyou 

Recorded directly in front of singer/guitarist John Dwyer, band and audience at floor level. 
M-Audio MicrotrackII + Sony ECM990-F>WAV(44.1 sample rate/16bit)>CD Wave Editor track split 

01. intro 
02. Enemy Destruct 
03. Contraption
04. I Was Denied  (HD video: sallenp)
05. Block of Ice 
06. Meat Step Lively 
07. Crack In Your Eye 
08. Mega Feast 
09. AA Warm Breeze 
10. Tidal Wave 
11. Dead Energy 
12. Warm Slime (Summertime Jam), at the 9:12 point the recording drops to mono due to mic connector 'pops' in one channel.  Video footage here.

Total Time – 50:25

Listen! (pCloud FLAC format)